Florida Politics
“Maverick PAC Picks Jason Fischer, Darrick McGhee For Future 40 Award”
June 1, 2015
By Phil AmmannJason Fischer is a JMI Board of Advisor and Darrick McGhee is a JMI Tallahassee Leaders Fellow.The Maverick Political Action Committee on Monday announced Florida Republicans Jason Fischer and Darrick McGhee as recipients of its annual Future 40 Award.Maverick PAC is the Republican-affiliated political advocacy organization of more than 3,500 young legal, business and civic leaders with 20 chapters nationwide. The group’s goal is to promote candidates and advance conservative issues.Future 40, now in its third year, recognizes professionals as current and future leaders in both business and politics.“The Future 40 is our opportunity to acknowledge individuals on the ascent in their careers,” National Chairman Jay Zeidman said. “The 2015 class really demonstrates the rising generation of leadership, and we are confident they will all leave large footprints for many years to come.”Fischer and McGhee were chosen among hundreds of nominations from across the country submitted by Maverick PAC members. McGhee is a lobbyist for Johnson & Blanton, and has more than 13 years of experience in government, including as former director of legislative affairs in the Executive Office of Gov. Rick Scott.Fischer is a member of the Duval County School Board, and is campaigning to replace term-limited Republican state Rep.Charles McBurney in House District 16, which covers parts of downtown Jacksonville and Duval County.Other Floridians picked for the Future 40 are lawyers Alan Florez of Daytona Beach, Vennia Francois of Orlando and Harout Jack Samra from Miami.Award recipients will be formally recognized at the Maverick PAC Annual Conference at The Venetian Hotel in Las Vegas July 16 to 18. Headlining the event will be Republican presidential candidates Carly Fiorina and Sen. Ted Cruz, as well as Florida U.S. Rep.Carlos Curbelo, former Defense Secretary Don Rumsfeld, and Mike Hayden, a retired Air Force general and former director of the National Security Agency.Article: http://floridapolitics.com/archives/184192-maverick-pac-names-jason-fischer-and-darrick-mcghee-to-future-40-award